All I Did Was Blink

Being 39: Where I've been, Where I am, and Where I'm going…

Friday Check-Up #2 Interviewing @ 40 March 18, 2011

Filed under: Life — itsahappyblog @ 3:39 pm
Tags: , , , ,
The power went out before I could blow dry my ...

Image via Wikipedia

Admittedly, I may be able to count the number of job interviews I have had in my lifetime on my two hands with fingers left over. Let’s just say I have been blessed when it comes to finding work when I want or need to do so.

Today I interviewed for a part-time job that would fit very nicely into my life and ease me back into the work force. My longest running workplace job lasted 8 1/2 years. I have worked for myself for a while now, as well as doing nanny work here and there.

This could be the first time in a long time I would have to dress appropriately for an office (instead of sweats or pj’s till well after noon-thirty), actually blow dry my hair (instead of hurriedly running a brush through it and letting it do as it pleases), wear make-up…you know…care about my appearance on a regular basis like grown ups do.

Needless to say, I put a lot of thought and energy into this afternoon’s meeting. I tweaked the old resume. I labored over the outfit. I lamented about how rusty I feel when it comes to ‘selling myself’ to a would-be employer.

Funny thing is, I did not seek out this job opportunity. It kind of fell in my lap. And up until the point when the interview ended, I have been mostly casual about my feelings on the outcome. If I’m the right fit, I’m the right fit. If not, not. But now I find myself wanting to hear that I have been chosen to fill the position.

Maybe my casual attitude has more to do with the fact that I am not a young 20-something looking for a career. I am comfortable in my skin. I am settled as a person. My value and worth as a human being are not measured by my ability to land the perfect job. Time was I would be crushed if turned down after an interview, feeling my self-esteem plummet after the rejection.

My what a decade or two will do for one’s perspective!

The rest of my week has been driven by today’s events looming over my shoulder in spite of my calm demeanor. So, not much on the to-do list was accomplished. Tick Tock…five weeks are going to pass by super quickly!! Pressure’s on! I feel far more anxiety over the pending move than over waiting to find out if we are about to add some extra income to our lives.

 

Leave a Reply

