All I Did Was Blink

Being 39: Where I've been, Where I am, and Where I'm going…

It’s My Birthday And I’ll Blog If I Want To! September 7, 2010

Filed under: Life — itsahappyblog @ 6:00 pm
Tags: ,

Today I turn 39!

That’s right. I said it. And I mean it! Not 39 again…not forever 39. Actually and really and truly – 39.

Aaahhhhhhh!!!! How did this happen??

OK. Now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, let’s talk about…me…turning 39!

I have written and re-written this first blog entry probably at least 39 times and I keep revising and revisiting every sentence and paragraph. So, I’ve thrown all of those drafts away and I am free-falling through this initial post because, really, what do I know about blogging anyway?

Over the last couple of weeks I have visited the freshly pressed page and explored some wonderful sites for inspiration and encouragement. I have found an amazing new community in which to ramble on about all that I love in life…travel, food, friends, family, books, games – you name it!

My blog is going to be about…

wait for it…

ME – turning 39!!!!!

Who is this woman looking back at me in the mirror every day? What has she done with the girl I once was? Do I like the way she behaves? Do I want to continue on her path? Is she the best me that I can be??

Answers: she IS me, she has buried deep in her memory most of who I was as a girl, I do not like everything she does, I want to continue on her path but I also want to help her to MOVE ON from some of who she has become…she is NOT my best me.

Honestly, she will never be my best me. I am incapable of perfection.

I need to repeat that (strictly for my own benefit). I am incapable of perfection!! The fact that I have not allowed myself to live in the truth of that statement has gone a long way in getting me to the place I am today. I am a perfectionist. I am a procrastinator. Throw in a little OCD (no comments from the peanut gallery). I am too much of this and not enough of that and I drive myself crazy trying to navigate my way through all the noise in my head.

So, starting today and for the next year I intend to investigate my life. I want to see me for me. I want to see where I have been, where I am now, and where I am going. I am not planning to just observe (I’ve done enough of that over the years). I intend to be proactive. I intend for this blog to be interactive (this means YOU). And I intend to have the loudest, craziest, funnest (can I use that as a word? please??) time doing it!

I was about to say wish me luck.

Forget that, wish me endurance, honesty, persistence. Wish me a happy blog! Together we can work on the healthy future!!

Today I turn 39!   Bring It On!!

 

10 Responses to “It’s My Birthday And I’ll Blog If I Want To!”

  1. baidanbi Says:

    Happy Birthday and I wish you a Happy Blog! Looking forward to future entries.

  2. Danny Says:

    Well my dear sister I see your off to a great start. Good job! I look forward to seeing this thing evolve into what I know you intend to be a spectacular blog.
    Happy Blogging and if you forget some of your silly childhood antics, I have not!!! I’ll be happy to remind you anytime. 🙂

  3. Mare Says:

    Well. It’s about time. I nearly aged a YEAR waiting in anticipation of this blog! 😉 I’m thinking that as you get your late 30s figured out, it might help other women both older and younger. I’m looking forward to this! God bless you sista!

    • Ha ha! Almost waited a YEAR!! That’s good;) I’m just happy to be able to move on to the real posts and be done with the introduction stage!! Thank you for being such a great support!!

  4. Slamdunk Says:

    Happy birthday and best wishes with you new blog.

    • Thanks for the encouragement. Read your 9/7 post and can’t wait for part two;) Sadly, my husband and I are so alike (both unorganized) that it is a mutual frustration whenever we have to ‘find’ something! It’s one of the many things I would like to get a handle on…

  5. Mare Says:

    I’ve added your blog site to my “favorites” – so bring on the blogs!


Leave a Reply

